RSS

2012, here we are!

01 Jan
Image: dream designs / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

It’s a challenge being a Mom!  There are so many demands made of us, and if we aren’t completely orgnanised, we are the ones who pay for it.

2012 is a new year, a chance to make new good habits, let go of some of the bad habits, and hopefully move forward with our families to making a better life for ourselves.

Resolutions… do you make them?  Do you follow through with them?  80% of people who make resolutions today will have failed by January 20th.  In fact, during the course of the year, only 8% will actually stick for the full 365 days.  Not great odds… yet, we continually set ourselves up to fail.

According to a 2007 study by Richard Wisemen from the University of Bristol, nearly 80 percent of people who set New Year’s resolutions fail. While resolutions can be achieved, most people simply set themselves up for failure. – ManhattanBeachPatch

According to squidoo.com, the top New Year’s Resolutions tend to crop up year after year.  Among the top 10 are to stop smoking, improve fitness, and lose weight.  And, if you’re like most people, you’ve struggled with one or more of these goals.  Once children enter the picture, setting goals and keeping them becomes that much more difficult.

One way to increase your chances of success is to set goals that are obtainable.  If you want to lose weight, don’t set yourself up to fail by setting a goal of losing 50 lbs.  Be reasonable – 50 lbs may be your ultimate goal, aim for a more modest number, say 1/2 to 1 lb per week.  Want to become more fit?  Sure, have a goal of running a half marathon by fall, but start by training yourself to walk for 30 minutes each day, with extending the distance and the speed as your body adjusts to being exercised.  By planning ahead, you may find it easier to keep your resolution.

Finally, don’t bite off more than you can chew.  Setting too many goals can be horribly overwhelming.  Once overwhelmed, you are even more likely to fail.

I’m willing to jump on the wagon right now…  My goals for 2012 are to lose weight, eat healthier, and become more fit.  To assist me with these goals, I’m going to use livestrong.com to calculate my caloric intake.  I’m going to set a goal of losing 1/2 lb each week (though I would prefer to lose 2 lbs, I have to be reasonable as to not disappoint myself) by making myself walk every day.  I’m also going to use livestrong.com to help me with meal planning, so I’m not tempted to order out as often (which is so expensive).

My hopes are, by focusing on those 3 simple goals, I will accomplish other goals as well…  By not eating out, I’ll save money which can be applied to debt.  By getting out and exercising, I’ll be setting a good example for my children to be physically fit.  The more time we spend out, the less time we will spend in front of the television or computer.  The combination of eating better and exercising, should naturally result in weight loss.

I will follow up on my progress with these goals.  Stay tuned through out the year and see if I can beat the odds!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 1, 2012 in Setting Goals

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

